top of page

Top 5 Diets to Lose Weight

Paleo, Keto and Vegan diets have stormed the world year after year, but what really is the best diet you utilize?


1. One that works for you!

The most important part of dieting isn't to have a diet at all, it is to have a healthy lifestyle. Diets are typically temporarily & if you want success, you need a diet that is sustainable. America actually is actually the most effective dieting country in the world, yet still the most overweight. How is that possible? Because people have no problem dieting & losing weight, they have a problem sticking to a healthy lifestyle they like and they put back on the weight they lost. So while us Americans might lose the most weight per year, we are also gaining the most weight.


This makes this a sustainability problem & the same goes for exercise too; typically the biggest guy in the gym isn't the one who goes the hardest, but one who has perfected the art for 5 or more years, so sustainability is the key to success.


For example, I did a keto diet a few years ago. Yes, I lost weight, but I absolutely hated it so much, once I hit my physical goal, I couldn't sustain the diet & have a normal life so I gave up on it. I gained about 20 pounds, and 2 years later I went towards a diet that works for me. That consisted of a healthy "iifym" diet which relies on eating really whatever you want that is generally healthy & hitting a macronutrient requirement. It took about 5 months to see the success I had of 2 months of keto, but I stuck with it much longer which has helped me reach my goal & more with ease.


Here are the basic rules of my diet below.

 

Ten Commandments of a Healthy Lifestyle

1. Eat below 225 grams of carbs.

2. Eat above 150 grams of protein.

3. Try to maintain around 100 grams of fat.

4. Eat as healthy as possible, but eat good.

5. Find 10 restaurants with 10 healthy meals & use them as eating out meals.

6. Take cinnamon & chromium with eat meal.

7. No sugary drinks, only zero calorie ones.

8. One dessert cheat meal a week.

9. Stay away from alcohol.

10. Find 2-3 healthy snacks & keep them on hand.

 

Eating out

  1. Honeygrow Stir Fry

  2. Corelife Grains Bowl

  3. Choolah's Chicken Bowl

  4. Harris Grill Chicken Bowl

  5. Gaucho Steak Salad

  6. Chick Fil A Chicken Strips

  7. Chipotle Chicken & Rice Bowl

  8. Bird on a Run Chicken Nuggets

  9. Boston Market Rotisserie Chicken & Corn

  10. Pita Pit Buffalo Chicken Pita


Snacks

  1. Dark Chocolate RX Bar

  2. Perfect Bar

  3. Jack Links Beef Jerky

  4. Protein Puck

  5. Halo Top Ice Cream





Home Meals

  1. Chicken

  2. Steak

  3. Shrimp

  4. Turkey

  5. Egg Whites

  6. Sweet Potatoes

  7. Potatoes

  8. Rice

  9. Veggies

  10. Orgain Protein Shake

 

This diet gave me places to go out to eat, snacks to eat & typical meals I'd love to eat. Now instead of asking my girlfriend "Where should we eat?" and hear her reply "I don't care you pick" then continues to say no to every place I randomly pick off the top of my head, we already know the places I can eat out at.


Personally, I'd suggest you to first try multiple diets; iifym, keto, paleo, veganism, etc. Second, see which one satisfies you 100% & you can see incremental progress off of. Last, create a long term plan with options around that diet you have.


Trust me, if you stick to any of these diets for a year, you'll lose weight. The true problem is people sticking to something. Be in control of your own diet, but make sure you love it!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page